Thriller at Duffys Rd sees Wyong remain top of table


Round Five of the Central Coast Cricket Association Men’s First Grade resulted in wins for Wyong, Kincumber Avoca, Narara Wyoming, Northern Power and Southern Spirit also securing wins.

Wyong pulled of a Houdini act to remain at the top of the competition.

All the excitement was at Duffys Rd where Wyong defeated Terrigal Matcham in a thriller.

Wyong took three wickets in the final over the match to claim victory after the Bellbirds needed five runs off the last over for victory.

After winning the toss Wyong elected to bat and were reduced to 3/11 as Alex Patterson and Nic Toohey made good use of the new ball.

It took a magnificent partnership of 106 runs for the fourth wicket between skipper, Hayden Murphy, and Jordan Little to get the innings back on track.

Little was dismissed for a well-made 58, however Murphy was able to continue at the crease finishing unbeaten on 67 as Wyong reached a creditable 5/180 off their 40 overs.

Patterson was the most successful bowler with 2/36.

In reply, Terrigal got off to an excellent start as Harry Brien and Lloyd Radcliffe put on 85 for the first wicket.

Zac Peters chimed in with 37 in the middle order to set up a finish whereby Terrigal Matcham needed 10 runs for victory with five wickets in hand.

Lachlan Rainger bowled the second last over, conceding four runs but also picking up the wicket of Rob von Elling which left the equation of six runs needed to win and four wickets in hand.

Kaleb Daly was handed the responsibility of bowling in the final over, which saw Alex Patterson, run out on the second ball of the over, Nic Toohey run out on the next ball and pivotally Peters caught off the fourth ball.

The final pair off Josh Bridges and Jaime Brien could only manage a leg bye from the final two balls which saw Wyong record a memorable victory requiring just one point from their final two-day games to seal a spot in the one final day.

An unbeaten run a ball century from reigning Alan Davidson Medallist, Dylan Robertson, saw Kincumber Avoca record a 76-run win over Lisarow Ourimbah at Sohier Park.

Coming in with a score at 1/5, Robertson peeled off a magnificent 102 not out, an innings which included 12 fours and a six and with assistance from opener, Tim Allard 55. saw the Griffens post 3/187 off their 40 overs.

In response, Lisarow Ourimbah struggled to match the run rate early against tight Kincumber Avoca bowling however a late flourish from Ben Sunshine saw them finish at a respectable 161 when dismissed in the 39th over.

Southern Spirit made it three wins in a row when they defeated The Entrance by 16 runs at Col Gooley Field.

Led by in form batter, Lachlan Cork, Southern Spirit were dismissed for 181 with Cork scoring his second half century off the year finishing with a fine 70.

Shane Higgins 37 and Lachlan Bull 28 provided good support.

Broc Hardy was again the pick of The Entrance bowlers, finishing with 4/22.

The Entrance’s innings in reply was steady however led by a good spell from Harry Jaenke saw them lose three wickets for six runs to put them in a precarious position at 5/72 at the halfway point in the innings.

Lachlan Gale and Kristiann Capeski did their best to get the Gulls over the line with an 81-run partnership but in the end they came up 16 runs short.

Gale finished with a polished 61 and Capeski 24 not out.

Jaenke finished with 2/27 in his best performance of the year.

Narara Wyoming had little trouble polishing off the required runs with Ethan Lulham top scoring with 34 whilst the return of former NSW Country Peter Gallichan would have warmed the hearts of the Lions supporters as he contributed an unbeaten 16.

In the final game, Northern Power remained in touch of the top two with a comfortable seven wicket win over Warnervale.

After Mitch Howard 5/15 and Chris Archer 3/23 dismissed Warnervale for 130, Zac Abel 54 not out and Jeremy O’Connell 47 ensured the Power passed the total with relative ease.

Brett Russell was the standout player for Warnervale with 70, whilst Daniel Hill took all three Northern Power wickets to fall.

Round six will occur over November 27 and 28 where Narara Wyoming will face Wyong at Fagan Park, Northern Power will battle Lisarow Ourimbah at Harry Moore Oval One, Southern Spirit will fight Kincumber Avoca at Col Gooley Field No.1, Terrigal Matcham will face Brisbane Water at Duffys Rd and The Entrance will battle Warnervale at Jubilee Park.

Harry Mulholland