Academy celebrates athletes and hopes for live finale

The VIATEK Central Coast Academy of Sport Athlete Celebration was hosted on the Academy’s social media sites on Wednesday, September 29, with COVID-19 restrictions forcing the activity online.

With athletes and parents watching from home a range of award winners was announced, with all sporting program athletes of the year and encouragement award winners now in the running to be announced as the overall Central Coast Academy of Sport Athlete of the Year.

A spokesperson said the Academy was hopeful that the second stage of the VIATEK CCAS Awards Evening would be held at a face to face event on Wednesday, November 10,at Mingara Recreation Club where the major award winners will be announced.

“We have adjusted our awards presentation formats numerous times to ensure that we are meeting all current restrictions,” Events Manager Emily Burgess-Moore said.

“When it became apparent that a face-to-face event was not possible, we felt that hosting an online presentation would be the best way forward.

“While this has added an extra challenge, we were thrilled to be able to announce the deserving award winners in an online format.

“A huge congratulations to all the CCAS athletes in what has been an incredibly challenging year.

“We remain hopeful that a face-to-face event will be possible for phase two of the CCAS Awards Evening.”

Award winners were:

AFL – Development Boys Encouragement Award, Clay Partelle; Girls Encouragement Award, Lacy Myers;

AFL – U13 Boys Encouragement Award, Kaiden McNamara; Girls Encouragement Award, Grace Ramanauskas;

AFL – U15 Boys Encouragement Award, Spencer Andrews-Bohringer;

Girls Encouragement Award, Taya White;

AFL – U17 Boys Encouragement Award, Baxter Beams;

Girls Encouragement Award, Eliza Schram; Basketball Athlete of the Year, Sophie Prior;

Basketball Encouragement Awards, Max Murray and Zoe Naylor;

Golf Athlete of the Year, Riley Millers;

Golf Encouragement Award, Desiree Herden and Archie Morris;

Hockey Athlete of the Year, Noah Needham;

Hockey Encouragement Award, Charlotte Tarleton and Ethan Shadbolt-Connors;

Indigenous Program Encouragement Award, Richard Darell;

Netball Encouragement Award, Makenzee Ryan, Charlotte Rousell, Eden Mungovan;

Netball Umpire of the Year, Amelia Carty;

Swimming Encouragement Award, Haylie Green and Jacob Falconer;

Touch Football Encouragement Award, Brandy Simpson;

Triathlon Athlete of the Year, Morgan Charlton;

Triathlon Encouragement Award, Wade Barr.

Media release, Sep 29
Central Coast
Academy of Sport