Medal of the Order of Australia for Brian Gee for his contribution to sport

Brian Gee

Brian Gee joined The Entrance Surf Life Saving Club in 1948, when he was 16, and since then he’s been involved in almost every role in club operations and, not only that, he has thrown himself wholeheartedly into the world of junior rugby league.

In recognition of his contribution to sport, just in time for his 89th birthday, he has been awarded a Medal of the Order of Australia (OAM) in the Queen’s Birthday 2021 Honours List.

“I was astounded when I found out, I must admit,” Gee said.

“I love sport and I didn’t know you got rewarded like this for doing the things you love.

“I was quite overcome by it actually, it was a nice feeling, but you don’t look for those rewards, you just do these things because you enjoy it and I’ve loved every minute of it.

“I’m still up in cloud nine, you’ve got no idea,” Gee said.

The year after he joined The Entrance Surf Life Saving Club, he became Junior Club Captain in 1949 and 1950, then moved through various roles to Patrol Caption from 1963 to 1967, becoming an Executive Committee Member from 1965 to 1986.

He became Deputy President from 1988 to 1991, Trustee from 1998 to 2007, Registrar from 1997 to 2006, Secretary from 1984 to 1996, and served as Treasurer for four years.

Gee is a former Chairman of Internal Judiciary Committees, a former Branch Delegate and is the surf club’s historian.

He became a Life Member of The Entrance Surf Life Saving Club in 1986 and, in 2018, he was honoured as a Life Member of St Edwards Junior Rugby League Football Club.

Gee is the Patron of the Central Coast Division of Junior Rugby League and over the years, he has been on the general committee, an Assistant Secretary, and member of the Judiciary Committee from 1985 to 2013.

Other awards and recognition include: the Service to Sport Award from Central Coast Sports Federation in 2012; a Merit Award from Country Rugby League in 2012; and, the 50-year Service Award from Surf Life Saving Australia in 1999.

Sue Murray