Golf club celebrates 50 years

Members of the 2006 committee (from left): Bill Poole, Mal Murray, Geoff Brandon, Earl Stokes, Alan Taylor, Lionel Matters, Bill Bell, Len (Clem) Payne and Leo Fry

One of the first golf clubs formed in regional NSW, Brisbane Water District Veteran Golfers Club (BWDVGC) celebrates its 50th birthday this week.

Half a century after it was launched on December 7, 1973, the club still provides competition golf every Monday.

While some golf courses have come and gone, the committee ensures that members get a game of golf on a different course for 46 weeks of the year at a reasonable cost, a spokesperson said.

Beginning with 26 members in 1973, the club saw membership grow quickly to almost 500 in 1993 and remain between 400 and 500 ever since, except in the early 2000s when numbers dropped to the mid-300s for a few years.

Women were admitted as members in 2016 and their numbers have increased steadily since with a women’s division of the club championships included in 2017.

“The club has been rewarded throughout by committee members devoted to its cause,” the spokesperson said.

“Bill Poole began in 1992 as the delegate of Morisset Club (1992-1995) and was elected Club Captain (1995-2010) and then President (2011-2016).

“Lionel Matters served as Vice President in 1992 and 1993 and President from 1994-2002 and R E (Earl) Stokes (delegate of Everglades Club 1992-2004) was elected Vice President (2000-2002), then President (2003-2010.

“It is no wonder that there are perpetual trophies named in honour of these three hard-working men.

“Bill Poole’s 25 years of committee service is almost equalled by Wyong delegate Stan Pass.

“As a delegate, Stan started in 1991 and remained as such until 2014.

“He acted as Vice President from 1995-1997.

“Since the 1990s both Bill Poole and Len Payne served on the committee of the NSWVGA – Len as Secretary for numerous years.

“Two members have won the Club Championship five times – Robert (Barry) Ewert won in 2002-2004 and again in 2013 and 2014, equalling the streak by J Oldman 2006-2010.

“Hopefully we can continue to provide an enjoyable golfing experience for veteran golfers in the district and continue the wishes of the inaugural committee.”