Mangrove Mountain landfill committee members announced

Drone photo shows the size of the landfi ll by 2017 Photo: Andrew Cooney PhotographyDrone photo shows the size of the landfill by 2017 Photo: Andrew Cooney Photography

All 11 community members who put in Expressions of Interest have been appointed to the Committee to advise Council on actions, and to address issues, relating to the Mangrove Mountain landfill and alleged dumping at Spencer.
Mr John Asquith, Mr Gary Chestnut, Mr Stephen Goodwin, Mr Wolfgang Koerner, Ms Margaret Pontifex, Ms Marilyn Steiner, Mr Danny Willmott, Mr Stephen Rickards, Ms Pam O’Sullivan, Ms Joy Cooper and Ms Lillias Bovell are the appointed community members.
The Mayor, Deputy Mayor, Councillors Marquart, MacGregor and Mehrtens, as well as the Chief Executive Officer, General Counsel, other relevant staff and independent experts will also form the committee.
Central Coast Mayor, Clr Jane Smith, said that with confirmation of the community appointments, the Committee can now get on with the job of helping to resolve issues relating to waste management in the best interests of the community and the Central Coast.
“We want to ensure that we have everyone at the table with the expertise, knowledge and interest to ensure that these issues are investigated thoroughly and the appropriate action taken, as that is what our community wants to see.”
“I look forward to the first meeting of this Committee and in continuing to keep the community updated on the progress of these important matters.”

Media release, Nov 27
Central Coast Council media

Similar articles

Multiple back articles about Mangrove Mountain Landfill fiasco