Cricket comp off to flying start

Warnervale played Kincumber Avoca at Woongarrah Oval

The Diggers at The Entrance 1st Grade Cricket Competition got off to a great start on Saturday, October 7, with some great performances on day one of the first games and day two set for October 14.

In the Wyong v Brisbane Water clash, Wyong won the toss and elected to bat.

Kane Wilson and Thomas Alderson got the runs ticking over but fell quickly to Lachlan Spencer’s bowling, with Jack Harris coming in to put 81 on the board off of 125.

After 81.5 overs, Lachlan Spencer was on 4/62 off 22 and stumps was called with Wyong 9/256.

Lisarow Ourimbah won the toss and elected to bat in their match against the Entrance.

The side was bowled out for 156 with top scorers Josh Hopkins with 34 runs and skipper Ben Sunshine 33.

Taking the most wickets for The Entrance was Gregory Kitchen finishing with 4/12 off 12.

The Entrance padded up and went out to bat with Simon Keen leading the runs and finishing the day 62*.

Stumps were called with The Entrance finishing 4/98.

Warnervale took on Kincumber Avoca and elected to bat after winning the toss.

Openers Ben Sammut and Daniel Hill fell quickly, bringing to the crease skipper Brett Russell, 63, who put on a partnership with Harrison Townsend, 34.

The batting collapsed in the middle order with Warnervale finishing all out for 144.

Kincumber Avoca came in with Billy Smith taking an early wicket off Harry Woodhead.

Bailey Lidgard came to the crease scoring quick runs and ending the day on 55* along with the opener Michael Williams on 40*.

Stumps were called with Kincumber 1/103.

In the Northern Power v Southern Spirit match, Northern Power won the toss and chose to bat.

Captain Ben Gillies led the day and finished unbeaten on 105*.

Josh Abel scored 65 and Aiden Murphy put 67 up on the board.

Southern Spirit bowler Lachlan Cork sits on 2/46 off 24 with 5 maidens.

Stumps were called with Northern Power ending the day 4/119.

Terrigal Matcham won the toss against Narara Wyoming and chose to put Narara in to bat.

In a low scoring match, Narara were all bowled out for 65 with top scorer Lachlan Shedden, 28.

The pick of the bowlers from Terrigal was Jack Trigg finishing 4/8 off 7.

In Terrigal’s turn to bat only one scorer reached double figures – Matthew Toohey on 14 – with the exceptional bowling of Kyle Jordan taking 7/13 off 10 and Keiran Lawson with 3/16 off 7 leaving Terrigal all out on 50.

In Narara’s second innings stumps were called seeing them finish on 4/32 with a lead of 47 heading into day 2.

The Ibis Styles The Entrance 1st Grade Women’s Competition also began on October 7 with six teams taking to the field.

Narara/Terrigal won the toss against Lisarow Ourimbah and elected to bat.

With a collapse in their batting line up their leading scorer was Rejoice Mudavose finishing 18*.

Aanya Siingh took 3/2 off 3 leaving them on 8/47 after their innings.

Lisarow Ourimbah took to the crease with Jessica Dowling taking two early wickets of the opening batters but Aanya Siingh, 31 and Maxine Babinski, 7 brought the win home reaching 50 runs after just 7 overs.

The Entrance won the toss and elected to bowl in their game against Northern Power.

Northern Power were scoring runs all through their line up with Julia Hunt 48* off 28.

The innings finished leaving them 2/152.

The Entrance came to the crease with skipper Kristy Barry taking the leading runs on 25 off 22.

Bowler Crystal Osborne rocked The Entrance, taking 3/5 off 3 and by the 15th over it was finished with The Entrance all out for 9/54.

Northern Power White elected to bowl after winning the toss against Kincumber Avoca.

Skipper Sophie McCrae retired on 32* and Narthana Sivasampavan finished on 26 off 28.

At the end of the innings Kincumber Avoca finished on 4/131.

Northern Power went out to bat with Layla Graham taking 2/12 off 4.

Top run scorer Zara Hepplewhite put 19* on the board but after 20 overs they couldn’t reach the runs and finished on 7/85.

Central Coast Cricket