Bateau Bay win two out of three Fours Championships

The winning Opens side, representing Bateau Bay Bowls Club


The 2021 Central Coast Fours Bowls Championships were played in one big day of bowls at Ettalong Memorial Bowls Club on Sunday, February 7, with Bateau Bay Bowling Club claiming two out of three finals.

With the semi-finals of the Presidents Reserve being played in the morning, the grand final, along with that of the Seniors and Opens, then proceeded at 1pm.

In the Presidents final, Terrigal’s Scott Webster, Warren Parkes, Cory Pope and Steve Balsdon won over Davistown’s Neil Haughan, Craig Hillock, Dean Millock and Ian McGilchrist.

After 18 ends, the score showed the Terrigal side to have a clear victory with 27 – 5, despite the closeness of the game not being reflected on the board.

A closer match-up was witnessed in the Seniors between Bateau Bay’s Terry Hughes, Gary Murphy, Bill Constantine and Tony Shoebridge, and Terrigal’s Graham Vale, Peter Coombes, Doug Kirwin and Tony Swaine.

The formerly Terrigal team, led by Shoebridge, went into the match as the reigning champions.

After losing their team to Bateau Bay, Terrigal managed to put together a new team with the will and wile to contest for the top, but on this day it was the new Bateau Bay Club members who took out gold after 18 ends, with a score of 28-11.

In the Opens, Bateau Bay’s Peter McCarten, Jeff Watson, Chayne Edwards and Rodney Rewko were up against Ettalong’s Glen Daley, Glen Simmington, Greg Shirley and Lee Patterson, who sought to win gold for the host club.

However, it was the Bateau Bay side which took out the win, coming from behind late in the game to overcome Ettalong’s early lead.

As a result, the three winning teams have progressed on to the state finals to be played later this year.

Bowls Central Coast