Garry Clarke named Surf Lifesaver of the Year

Surf Lifesaver of the Year Garry Clarke

Avoca Beach club president, Garry Clarke, has taken out the Surf Lifesaver of the Year award at the Surf Life Saving Central Coast Awards of Excellence.

With 24 categories and a membership base of over 8,500 members, the awards recognise the outstanding achievements of members across the entire Central Coast.

Umina Surf Life Saving Club was named Club of the Year, followed by Avoca Beach in second position and Shelley Beach in third.

Clarke has completed 118 hours of volunteer patrols in addition to performing his role as club president.

This season he was a UAV operator and trained, assessed and facilitated various surf education awards including the Bronze Medallion.

He was also honoured for his achievements and continued contribution to the Surf Life Saving movement with a Surf Life Saving Central Coast Life Membership.

The Youth Surf Lifesaver of the Year category was awarded to Liam Drake of Ocean Beach Surf Life Saving Club.

His achievements include 83 hours of voluntary patrols, being Central Coast U13- U14 Youth Program Coordinator and U15 Youth Program Facilitator, sitting on the NSW Championships safety and emergency committee and being Club Water Safety officer and NSW Junior Lifesaver of the year Facilitator.

Volunteer of the Year went to Julie Redfern of Terrigal Surf Life Saving Club.

This season she was Director of Members Services, Patrol Captain, managed club social media and was a valuable administrator for the club.

Kai Avis of North Avoca Surf Life Saving Club was named Youth Volunteer of the Year.

Since the age of 17, he has had among the highest patrolling hours in the club and supports the Nipper program with water safety and coaching twice a week.

He coached the Nipper March Past team to a gold medallion at this season’s Branch Championships.

Other award recipients include: Rookie of the Year, Zara Tucker, Ocean Beach; Trainer of the Year, Pam Edmonds, Umina Beach; Assessor of the Year, Tim Pittolo, Terrigal; Facilitator of the Year, Paul Dowdell. Shelly Beach; Administrator of the Year, Kate Harrison, North Avoca; Service Team of the Year, North Avoca; Youth Program, North Avoca; Surf Sports Team of the Year The Lakes; Board Relay, The Lakes; Official of the Year, David Unger, Ocean Beach; Coach of the Year, Damien Benson, Avoca; Masters Athlete of the Year, Hayden Smith, Terrigal; Young Athlete of the Year, Ryan Green, Terrigal; Open Athlete of the Year, Ella Beere, Avoca; Patrol Captain of the Year, Kerry Armstrong Smith, Umina; Support Operator of the Year, David Smith, Terrigal; President’s Award, Lauren Summerhayes, Umina; Innovation of the Year ,Umina Youth Engagement Program, Umina; Community Education Program, Terrigal Walk for Youth Mental Health, Terrigal; Rescue of the Year, Avoca Patrol January ’22, Avoca; Patrol Competition, Umina’ and Overall Surf Sports Point score, Terrigal.

Media release, Jun 15
Surf Life Saving Central Coast

Be the first to comment on "Garry Clarke named Surf Lifesaver of the Year"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.