Bowls bonanza

The winning Presidents Reserve side, representing Terrigal Bowling Club.


The 2021 Central Coast Fours Bowls Championships were played in one big day of bowls at Ettalong Memorial Bowls Club on Sunday, 7 February, with the three gold medals being shared between Bateau Bay and Terrigal Bowling Club.

With the semi-finals of the Presidents Reserve being played in the morning, the three grand finals in the Presidents, Seniors and Opens then proceeded at 1pm.

In the Presidents final, Terrigal’s Scott Webster, Warren Parkes, Cory Pope and Steve Balsdon won over Davistown’s Neil Haughan, Craig Hillock, Dean Millock and Ian McGilchrist.

After 18 ends, the score showed the Terrigal side to have a clear victory with 27 – 5.

A closer match-up was witnessed in the Seniors between Bateau Bay’s Terry Hughes, Gary Murphy, Bill Constantine and Tony Shoebridge, and Terrigal’s Graham Vale, Peter Coombes, Doug Kirwin and Tony Swaine.

The ex-Terrigal team led by Shoebridge went into the match the reigning champions, winning the Fours last year for their old club.

After losing their team to Bateau Bay, Terrigal Club managed to put together a new team led by Swaine with the will and wile to contest for the top, but on this day it was the new Bateau Bay Club team who took out gold after 18 ends, with a score of 28-11.

In the Opens, Bateau Bay’s Peter McCarten, Jeff Watson, Chayne Edwards and Rodney Rewko were up against Ettalong’s Glen Daley, Glen Simmington, Greg Shirley and Lee Patterson, who sought to win gold for the host club.

However, it was the Bateau Bay side who took out the win, coming from behind late in the game to defy Ettalong’s early lead.

As a result, the three winning teams have progressed on to the state finals to be played later this year.

Bowls Central Coast