Records fall at Mingara Athletics Opening Race Night

Athletics.P. Sam Eddy, Stuart Eddy, Coen Godfrey, Charles Berry competing at Opening Race Night. 5 January 2020

The new year got off to a fast start at Mingara Athletics Club with 2021’s opening Race Night on the evening of Tuesday, 5 January.

Amidst a streak of bad weather, athletes enjoyed clear conditions, which may have aided several new club records.

Over 44 athletes competed in the 60m, 200m, 800m and 3000m races.

The first heat of the 800m was convincingly won by National runner, Ashley Pernecker, with a time of 2:32:48, a new club record in the Women’s U16’s.

In the Mens 800m, newcomer Kane Kennett won his heat in a quick 2:28:27, with Mike Randall (fifth) setting a new record in the Men’s 65-69 age with 2:41:39.

Masters sprinter Ernie Leseberg dominated the 60m with a best time of 7.17 seconds, despite being eagerly chased by Liam Coles, who set a club record for the Men’s U14’s at 7.30 seconds.

In the ladies 60m, Masters sprinter Richelle Ingram (aka Shaz McAbs) raced several heats along with younger girls Keira Callaghan, Tahlia Goy, Jazmyn Graham, Molly Radic and Emma Blume who all crossed the finish line in under 10 seconds.

Tahlia Goy broke the Women’s U11’s record with 9.29 seconds, while Ruby Clegg broke the Women’s U10’s record with 10.07 seconds in the final heat.

In the 3000m, Anthony Morgan defeated a big line-up of 17 runners with a time of 8:47:71.

Second and third place were taken by Stuart Eddy and Scott Godfrey, who both managed to finish under 10 minutes with previous City-to-Surf winner Paul Arthur close behind, finishing in 10:19:10.

Mike Randall found himself breaking another record in the Men’s 65-69 age group with a time of 11:48:16, while Margaret Beardslee did the same in the Women’s 60-64 age with 14:05:35.

Finally, in the 200m Ernie Leseberg clocked the fastest time of the evening with 22.82 in Heat Three.

Athletes now have just a few days to prepare for the upcoming Summer Comp to be held on Saturday, 9th January.

Haakon Barry