2020 Youth For Youth team members announced

Central Coast Council has announced the11 members of the Y4Y (Youth For Youth) action team to represent young people around the Coast in 2020.

The newly appointed members, aged 14 to 23, were welcomed at a lunch on December 13. This is the second Y4Y team for the Coast, and members will hold the position for the next year.

Mayor, Lisa Matthews, said the 2019 Y4Y played an important role in helping empower young people and delivering the first ever Youth Strategy for the Central Coast. “Congratulations to our new members who have been willing to put up their hands to make a difference for young people on the Coast, ” Cr Matthews said.

“We have a Youth Strategy now in place, and this team will be instrumental in achieving real action and opportunities for our young people and I am looking forward to the outcomes. “We want to ensure that the Central Coast is a place where our 50,000 young people can live, study, work and play.

“The 2019 Y4Y team should be extremely proud of all that they have achieved. “Their representation meant that they were actively involved in delivering a range of successful programs such as the annual youth forum, the development of our Youth Strategy, the first Colour Our Coast fun run and the Life Skills Expo. ”

The Y4Y 2020 team includes: Gabrielle Dyball, Layne Paull, Jayden Redfern, Hayleigh Paull, Crystal Russom (returning member), Calypso Hanley, Sophie Grace Hawkins, Ethan Hill, Rosannah Taig-Clark, Phoebe Sheridan and Corey Lees (returning member).

The new team will participate in a three day leadership camp in January, and will be actively involved in planning activities for Youth Week in April.

Source: Media release, Dec 20 Central Coast Council

Share this story