Zane to debate in Parliament

Terrigal High School student, Zane Norris, is one of 120 Year 11 and 12 students selected to participate in the 22nd National Schools Constitutional Convention, being held at The Museum of Australian Democracy at Old Parliament House in Canberra, from March 15 to 17.
The National Schools Constitutional Convention programme provides senior students with an opportunity to become better informed about Australia’s Constitution and encourages them to take an active interest in the operation of government.
The topic of the 2017 Convention is ‘Indigenous Australians and the Constitution’.
Facilitated by Emeritus Professor, John Warhurst AO, Professor of Political Science at the Australian National University, the students will consider a range of arguments relating to Indigenous Constitutional recognition.
This will include input from a panel of experts, group discussions on the issues and the opportunity to persuade other delegates of particular approaches.
Students will participate in a mock referendum to determine the outcome of their deliberations.
The Convention is funded by the Australian Government Department of Education and Training as part of its ongoing commitment to civics and citizenship education.
In becoming a national delegate, Zane Norris was selected from around 4,000 students from government, independent and Catholic schools, most of whom took part in feeder conventions in their home state or territory.
Zane is Captain at Terrigal High School, and this is a fantastic opportunity to go to Canberra and debate current constitutional reform issues.

Media release,
Feb 24, 2017
Sven Wright, NSW Education

Similar stories